As beautiful as ever

James Taylor sang of fire and rain,
he didn’t know who to send his verse to,
but I send it to you, between strands
of seeing your hair let fully down,
just the one time.

Of sunny days long gone,
remembrance is a summer’s play,
where he who should not be named
for fear of a run of poor fortune,
couldn’t speak of his own heart either.

And I hope you feel fire’s passion
much more than life’s seasonal rain,
for the first time I saw you,
summer was a cold rain spell
in comparison, and Macbeth
who I’ll name too late, a fringe character.

If this poem means little to you,
then understand in Shakespeare’s phrases,
you left a lasting impression
in your embrace, and that’s gold enough.

I always thought I’d see you
one more time again,
and let you know
you were much loved.

6 thoughts on “As beautiful as ever

  1. nectarfizz says:

    Ah, James Taylor how I love him..(sigh)

  2. Matt says:

    Just a classic song isn’t it. Who can not like “Fire and rain”.

  3. nectarfizz says:

    I love his music.

  4. Beautiful. I don’t know what it is with this poem, but something sort of drew me in. The way these phrases sigh, they’re like liquid, flowing smoothly.
    Oh, and yes, great song.

  5. poeticgrin says:

    I love how you bring together poetry and song. There are so many moments in my life that are tied to song and I’ve attempted, at times, to do what you’ve done here, but I’ve not yet been very successful. You’ve joined the two here without using the song as a crutch. Instead, you take the song to a new place and use a portion of the lyrics (and their sentiment) as a ladder to your own creativity and your own association. I want to go listen to James Taylor now.

  6. Matt says:

    Exactly, it was the sentiment behind the song that I wanted to bring into the piece which is a very old memory of mine (some sixteen years ago) of a time (and place) when I met someone who made an impression on me. The references to Macbeth are there because we were both in an outdoor production of the play, and although it was an all too brief time, only some two weeks in a summer, it’s something I look back upon fondly as being a special episode in my life. Occasionally, it’s needful to write about such moments, and sometimes say the things you couldn’t, but should have said back then.

Leave a Reply

