The first gig is never easy

“And lo, I bring you tidings
of great hope and joy,
plus all the flat bread
and fishes you can eat.
I want to make this world,
a better plaice.”

They groaned. He knew they
would.

He was once a comedian,
until a lump of unleavened bread
thrown from a heckler
bounced from his head,
swift followed by a chunk
of ripe goat’s cheese.

After that, he lost it,
quoted the old testament,
and swan dived into the crowd
who disbelieving parted,
eager for a miraculous landing
amongst them.

“Lord, I was blind, but now
I can see!”

“Uh huh… timing.”, muttered Jesus,
wobbly dusting himself down.

“Dude, it’s look before you leap”,
winced a concerned Peter,
eyeing up a much lower mount,
just in case, for tomorrow
and tomorrow.

(Jesus, the teen years. I hope he forgives
my liberties!)

* No, I’m not religious, just a simple poem about
rising above indifference, and to on keep trying.

6 thoughts on “The first gig is never easy

  1. Sharon says:

    Not an easy thing to write Matt, you have done well to get this far tonight, it may be something you revisit 🙂

  2. Sharon says:

    Matt, well done! you got it this time around 🙂

  3. Matt says:

    I’m not so sure, I may be struck down by lightning sometime between now and tomor…

  4. nectarfizz says:

    snicker…hilarious!
    hahahahahahahahha Long live the Matterhorn!!

  5. Matt says:

    I don’t think it’s easy to write a funny religious poem without offending someone somewhere, it’s not some place most people go is it?
    It ends up being a bit of a fine line, anyway, I had a go regardless 🙂

  6. nectarfizz says:

    OF course you did..it is what you do, it’s what all good poets do (smile)

Leave a Reply

