I’ll wear it once in the dark (if it snows)

gp522018-00p01v012

“It’s a woolly
pom pom hat,
and that’s that!”,
she says.

Oh, no. Never.

Even the words
pom pom‘ make me
shudder,
like no knitted other!

I say,
“There are those
that can wear
such an patently
absurd winter hat,
and those well,
who look in it,
a haggard, old elf
like myself.”

She says,
“Put it on anyways,
I can always
pull it half down
to conceal your frowns.”

Somehow,
that wasn’t quite the
pom pom ending
I was intending,
even if I’m just a man
of snow
and she, but only five
you know.

10 thoughts on “I’ll wear it once in the dark (if it snows)

  1. nectarfizz says:

    (Huge giant grin!) Sounds like my kind of girl!

  2. Matt says:

    I should have posted this nearer to Christmas methinks. It wasn’t going to be about a snowman originally, funny how poems take on a mind of their own.

  3. nectarfizz says:

    I love this one, will add it to my favorites–The tortoise, the rubber duck, the bathroom plug, the ballet poem…and, of course, my own. 🙂

  4. Matt says:

    Looking at that list of yours, what weird subject matter I write about.

  5. nectarfizz says:

    I know….aren’t you fantastic!!!

  6. nectarfizz says:

    I am going to make a list of all the ones you should get published on that book of yours.

  7. Matt says:

    Bekki, you’re too kind 🙂

  8. […] He has a fantastic sense of humor. […]

  9. sonofwalt says:

    Delightfully cute. 🙂

  10. funny little poem… me like..

Leave a Reply

