Good friend, sushi

Brought in the rice,
the delicate china bowls
and the small squeezy,
soy-filled fish
for optional, added dip
flavour; a cute touch.

“Hope you don’t mind,
but I started before you?”

“No, carry on, be right out.”

Never let it be said
I don’t actively contribute
to a minimalist meal.

The fish was really fresh,
didn’t like to say, but maybe
a little too for my tastes.

As an aside, personally,
wasn’t keen on the idea
that it had been swimming
around minutes earlier,
but you know, tradition!

The ordeal I had catching
the little bugger from the
very attractive live tank.

I remember
thinking at the time,
they gave that pretty
fish, false hope.

But the Japanese,
they will eat anything.

“Thanks for coming round
for Suzy”

“Suzy, like Susan Suzy?”

She went over to point out
her latest acquisition.

3 thoughts on “Good friend, sushi

  1. poeticgrin says:

    “Never let it be said
    I don’t actively contribute
    to a minimalist meal.” = fantastic.

  2. megan says:

    I wonder if the fish in my aquarium are offended when I eat sushi in front of them…

  3. Matt says:

    Possibly, but then most fish eat other fish in front of each other, so I’m sure they get over it.

Leave a Reply

