Come fetch me

I hung my head,
anxiety guided
a downward motion,
glanced at this life map,
it seemed confused,
meaningless.

Many directions
to unknown hamlets,
all those unopened gates
to hazes upon hills,
they were paler thoughts.

One burned a beacon
through good times,
stubborn bad,
distant, empty-head faults
were acknowledged
in the pyre.

There I remained,
gathered sticks to flame,
heat healing the dark;
eager valleys spread in light
to pilot me home.

Love came, fetched me.

4 thoughts on “Come fetch me

  1. nectarfizz says:

    Sometimes you amaze me, other times you make me cry, and sometimes you make me speechless, this is one time I am all at once. This is beautiful.

  2. nectarfizz says:

    When I say make me cry, I mean good tears..lol

  3. Stephanie says:

    This is lovely, Matt. No, its more than lovely. It’s somehow fragile and unrelenting – at the same time. Really beautiful.

  4. Matt says:

    Thanks for the lovely comments, quite an old poem this from when I first attempted to write anything poetic. Somehow I still like its message, its traveling optimism.

Leave a Reply

