Summer moon connection


(a little prose tale)



“It’s no use, I’m finished,
my muse has burnt out, gone,
there will be no more words.
I am alas, bereft in a void
of brevity.”,
said the moth to the butterfly.

“Oh, so you’re not coming out
tonight then?”

The butterfly looked at the moth
intently, then upwards.

“No, and don’t try to cheer me
with lunar night magic
or tell me that there’s always time
tomorrow.”, continued the moth.

“Mothy, you big fool!”,

said the fiery, orange butterfly,
she had a surprisingly deep voice
for one of her fragile kind,
and it shook Mothy
like tales of the summer moon.

“You always get melancholy
remembering your Cocoon-day,
man, you have at least

ten days

to live. C’mon, give it a break,
that is as we both know
a veritable lifetime.”

With that the butterfly
flew off, a smile looking back,
with wings, vivid as a lake sunrise
and the moth imagined a poem
about a butterfly
as bright, as cool
as an energy saving light bulb
(if that were possible)

Upon a favoured rhubarb leaf
some three days later,
he carefully wrote it down
intending to show her,
but by then it was too late,
as the butterfly had passed away
that very summer morning.

Even the moon was obscured
that uneasy night, missing
part of its symmetrical shape,
one other crescent half,
then two winged clouds parted
and it unveiled to what he thought
was never seen, not possible,
an orb so fine, so orange,
it might have been electric.

Oh Butterfly, he thought,
you did see my poem.

5 thoughts on “Summer moon connection

  1. Vic says:

    Cute story, Matt. Could make that into a children’s book.

  2. Matt says:

    Yes, it’s that kind of story, not typically my kind of write, but I thought I’d try something different for me, and why not 🙂 Thanks for the feedback, Vic.

  3. rfavelle says:

    Hey Matt,

    There’s something about this that reminds me of my dad (RG). It’s fantastic, even if it’s unusual for you.

    I thought you might like to see the memorial clip that we did for him.

    http://gatebeautifulranch.com/memorial/memorial.html

  4. nectarfizz says:

    That was a very moving tribute.

  5. Matt says:

    Rebekah, the memorial clip was just beautiful, just right. I didn’t know what RG looked like the entire time I knew him (some 9 years of corresponding on the net), and I did consider at one time asking yourself or Bev for a photo after he died. Then I thought it wasn’t really necessary as I knew him from his spirit, his words and his mischievous good humour and that for me “was” the man, I had my own idea of what he looked like. Having seen the memorial now, I see that my idea of the person I thought he was was there in his photos too, thank you for that. I really liked him. When I collected his poems together at All in a pen, he wanted the forum to be called “Halos”, which for me sums him up, as there was a genuine warmth to his nature and brightness, a positivity too, although he was tested in that conviction at times in his illness (I noticed in some of his later poems)

    On another note, Sandy was in the back of my mind when I wrote this little story too, with its theme of death and awareness of death not having the final say as it were, in the end. There is always something after, and something that comes back, and you seeing this poem, saying it reminded you of your dad in some ways, and replying, confirms that little notion for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

