It made sense at the time


~
“Climb every mountain,
ford every stream.
Follow every rainbow,
till you find your dream.”

I didn’t find my dream there,
or the one where
Julie Andrews fought
Lemmy from Motorhead,
beat him off with
an upturned umbrella,
then snapped his bass over
her curtained thighs,
saying, “This Warty, is my hill!
Eat Poppin’s brolly!”
and he did too, before jumping.

What an ace of leaps that was.

Sadly, the one I did find,
wasn’t a lemming of current affairs,
but a sultan of sultanas
backdated according to Julie,
from “A few nights ago.”

How did the old prune know?

In that cake recipe,
or was it a dream sponge, I forget,
the king of the grapefruits
set up a live cable broadcast link
while I had to limbo under
a bar of chatty, rotating badgers
(talking forest shit as per usual)
who were part custard part
well, badger oddly enough.

I never questioned the repeats
or the custard element,
well you don’t do you.

~

NB – About the weird connections in dreams
and how it all seems perfectly logical at the time.

4 thoughts on “It made sense at the time

  1. nectarfizz says:

    I wish I could have been in your dream, for the sight of Mary Poppins popping a brolly in someone’s..Ahem..you get the picture. I love the deep imagery in this one Matt, it makes a clear image in my head. I suddenly want a prune danish in the worst way.

  2. Matt says:

    You’ll probably dream of a prune danish now.

  3. nectarfizz says:

    That suggestion may just do the trick. Love the Mona picture, it suits the poem somehow, I grinned widely. How on earth will you top this masterpiece?

  4. Matt says:

    I’ll top it with a rotating chatty badger called Lenny D’badgio. I believe he painted the painting although I may be mistaken.

Leave a Reply

